Where Must I Abode???

Home or Home-Stall?

Preamble: Part 1 of this short presentation is a continuation of my previous post on Being at Home Everywhere and Part 2 shall be an illustration of this way of Thinking. It is best for one to read all parts as they  capture the essence of this “mindset”. Enjoy!

PART I

That I was born, I must live. I am so jazzed this morning at this thought of “being-at-home-everywhere”. Omnipresence is something the gods practice, and the closest human equivalence is what I aim to briefly write… The City and Society puts pressure as to where I must live. I have observed it is almost a native desire to enjoy for one to enjoy a home and  a neighborhood.

Maybe the best way to place the issue is to ask what is a Home?

“When a person voluntarily takes up his abode in a given place, with intention to remain permanently, or for an indefinite period of time or without any present intention to remove therefrom, such place of aboard becomes his residence or home.”

By definition, any place can become home if we intend it. But how we have turned our houses into mere home-stalls! A place to be restrained: against the thief, the weather elements and the darkness. A mere clearinghouse from which we are tethered and released each day to chase the wages. In my opinion, to designate a certain potion of the earth as my home and homestead is a misadventure. The idea I front is that of “where thou art- that is – Home”

Life is very precious to be tethered…The world is all homely and beckons us to take abode. I like illustrating the conflict of desires to “own a home” vs. “to-be-at-home” with the story of a certain rich man who owns Thirty Homes in different cities. (Not-so-hard-to-imagine!)

He is totally incapable of being at peace in any of the 30 homes Stalls. Even if he wishes, his cares far outweigh the enjoyment of his many houses. To be at home, I perceive is a skill and an art. An especial gift from the gods! Recently I took abode in one of his thirty homes for a rental and the truth is I fancied not to have coveted his property but enjoyed it in ways I felt I could sell it for a fortune and at once go buy the second home for my second stay! It was a wholesome sense of enjoying something by engaging even the 6th sense…

|What is a house but a seat? — better if a country seat.

Some of the most impulsive and passionate memories I have are those of me by some river that bound our rural home! The river showers and complete wilderness baths, bird- watching and the sense of waters gushing….i have never quite seen any raw homeliness as such. The closest Philosopher who has described a home of similar proportions is Henry David Thoreau, in his book “Walden”

Where I Lived, and What I Lived For: After playing with the idea of buying a farm, Thoreau describes his house’s location. Then he explains that he took up his abode at Walden Woods for the following reasons:

“I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived. I did not wish to live what was not life, living is so dear; nor did I wish to practise resignation, unless it was quite necessary. I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life, to live so sturdily and Spartan-like as to put to rout all that was not life, to cut a broad swath and shave close, to drive life into a corner, and reduce it to its lowest terms, and, if it proved to be mean, why then to get the whole and genuine meanness of it, and publish its meanness to the world; or if it were sublime, to know it by experience, and be able to give a true account of it in my next excursion.”

Thoreau amazes me for the simple fact that he built his house alone and maintained it. This he did to gain a more objective understanding of life. Some simple living….

I guess am writing this because The Home has departed from the City and we are left only with vagueness and concrete jungle! We need to build again, not with brick and mortar but with our hearts.

Quotations from Thoreau Henry:

|AT A CERTAIN season of our life we are accustomed to consider every spot as the possible site of a house.

| I discovered that my house actually had its site in such a withdrawn, but forever new and unprofaned, part of the universe.

PRACTICAL REFLECTIONS:

  1. Practice “Being-at-Home” everywhere, this is your most sacred duty. To be resident in both your feet and your seat wherever time places you.
  2. If needs be that you find yourself a reference home, an Origin (0,0), then find yourself the best spot on this vast earth.

Reference:

1. Henry David Thoreau : A Week on the Concord and Merrimack Rivers / Walden / The Maine Woods / Cape Cod, by Henry David Thoreau, Library of America, ISBN 0940450275

2. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walden

3. Walden (free e-book) : http://www.gutenberg.org/etext/205

4. Black’s Law Dictionary, for definition of “Home”- Pg.577

Compilation by: David Nahinga

Read Part 2 : An Example

~ by ujenzibora on April 29, 2010.

One Response to “Where Must I Abode???”

  1. Helpful piece of writing. I can consider it be the case of course not normally. I usually don’t publish though I would like to chime in this time and let you know I appreciate the blog.

Leave a Reply

 
